How the regatta is run

CRAB (Classic Regattas Anglo-Breton) has been converted into an Unincorporated Members Association with the aim of securing the future independence of the regatta and to give the entrants a voice in how it should be run and developed.

The owner or skipper of each boat entered in the current regatta automatically becomes a member for two years from the date of the regatta (anyone can opt out if they wish). From 2017 crew members also become associate members and pay a small one-off subscription of £5 or 5€ for a 2 year membership. At each regatta there will be a general meeting to elect the officers of the Association for the next two years and advise on the future direction of the Association and regatta events.

See the minutes of the 2017 AGM here.

The regatta is managed by a separate company, Classic Regatta Management Ltd, which is a company limited by guarantee. The Company is owned by three people who own the company in “trust” for the Association, but the directors and management of the Company are legally separate from the Association and its members. The liability of the company is limited to £1 per member (or shareholder). The reason for having a separate company is to ensure that the CRAB Association members are not exposed to any potential liabilities arising from the running of the regatta. In addition to that, both the Association and the Company have comprehensive insurance cover which includes public liability and third party insurance of £5 million.

Read the full constitution

So that Association members and their crews can meet up occasionally between regattas we have set up a very informal social ‘Crab & Bottle Club’ which has no fixed abode and meets whenever and wherever the spirit takes it. These have taken the form of a laying-up suppers and a fitting-out suppers. So far these have been in Dartmouth and very well attended, but may move to other locations in the future.

If you would like to become an associate member, please contact either: or

All photos taken at previous Classic Channel Regattas and reproduced by kind permission of Mike Wynne-Powell, Karine Gilles de Pelichy and